T-SQL Tuesday #45 – Follow the Yellow Brick Road

T-SQL Tuesday is a recurring blog party, that is started by Adam Machanic (Blog | @AdamMachanic). Each month a blog will host the party, and everyone that want’s to can write a blog about a specific subject.

This month the subject is “Follow the Yellow Brick Road”. If you want to read the opening post, please click the image below to go to the party-starter: Mickey Stuewe (Blog | @SQLMickey).



 
When I read this months subject, I didn’t know what to write about, until I read one of the other blogs. So I’m sorry Mickey, but I’m using the subject this month as a guideline, and extend it a little bit. I’m glad I know Mickey, and I’m guessing she doesn’t mind me getting a little creative.

The writer of the post I read, talked about index fragmentation and data growth, and then I remembered a situation I encountered a while back.

When you come in to a company, you’d really like to see (and maybe even expect) to walk into a well organized team. A team that has procedures that work for them, and team members that agreed to solve problems in a specific way. But sometimes, it’s not…

 
Here you go!
On my first day as DBA at the company, I walked in and after a few conversations booted up my computer. Once it was booted, they gave me the name of a server, and wished me good luck. No documentation, no explanation of the databases, and no mention of who worked on the server. The only thing they said when they “handed over the key”, is “Here you go! From now on it’s your responsibility to keep the environment running and healthy!”.

So, there I was… No documentation, no health check, no one to tell me what the status of the server was…

 
Taking that first step is always the hardest
So the first thing I did was check out which databases were on the server. There were a lot: 70 in total. Then I checked the user permissions: most users were a member of the db_owner role. Great! Asking which users really needed all that permissions was useless. Everyone needed full access to everything.

So then I took the step to tell them that I was in charge of the server from that moment on, and that if they did something without my permission, I’d remove their access to the environment. Looking back, that was easier said than done.

But the first step that was really hard to accomplish, was reporting of the server health. No one thought that we needed that, and if there was something went wrong we would notice in an instant. And because I knew we really needed that, I just cleared my schedule, and created a few reports.

 
Being right is always a fun thing
A few weeks later, they finally saw I was right. One of the databases filled up a disk, and now we had issues. The only way we could see what went wrong, was looking at the data growth over the previous weeks in my reports. So now I could show them how wrong they were. It’s nice to be right once in a while!

 
Audit
This is were this months topic comes into play. A clear indication that you lack an audit trail, is when there’s an issue with one of your processes, databases, or even as small as a specific dataset, and you don’t know where the issue came from. Following your data flows from beginning to end is always a good idea. And if you work at a larger company, you’re (at least in the Netherlands) required to document your data flows for a financial audit every year.

But not only your datasets need audit trails. Your databases are in dying need of an audit trail as well. Because what happens if your database increases 50% in size over the course of a week, and you don’t track those kind of numbers? Your disk is filling up, your database stops working (if you haven’t got the space to extend your datafiles), and eventually your world is becoming a dark and evil place if you can’t fix it.

 
Conclusion
Even if you don’t have a full front-to-back audit trail of your data and processes, at least try to monitor and audit the key point in your data flow. That helps you debug excessive data growth, and helps you when (for example) a user creates a new database without asking your permissions. Even small audits help you out when you’re in a world of pain and trouble.

Leave a Reply

