2013 – a summary

Now that 2013 is almost over, everybody is starting to create lists. I’m not going to bother you with endless lists to sum up this year. You can find the most important things for this year below.

 
Blog posts
Last year I set myself a goal: write more blog posts in 2013 then in 2012. In 2012 I wrote 29 posts, which is about 2.5 per month. In 2013 I managed to write 33 blog posts (about 2.75 per month). It’s still not the amount I hoped, but at least it’s better. So that makes a 25% increase compared to last year.

 
Traffic
One of the advantages of writing more, is the increase in website traffic. Compared to last year, I’m at about 4x more traffic. This is something I’m particularly proud of, because that’s a way to give something back to the community. It’s awesome to help people solve a problem, and I owe it to all of you that helped me in the past and now.

 
SQL Saturday
The first SQL Saturday I attended: SQLSaturday #221 – Holland 2013. It was a wonderful event, where I’ve seen a lot of good sessions by some great speakers, and met a lot of people in person. Hopefully the next SQL Saturday will be as great as this one!

 
Consulting
One of the things that was on the list was working on a job as a consultant. A couple of friends gave me the opportunity to try that, and I liked it very much! Hopefully 2014 will be the year that I can expand this, and work on more projects as a consultant.

 
Great people
But the greatest thing this year was meeting a lot of wonderful people from the SQL community. I met some of them online, and some of them in person. Thank you, especially the ones I now consider friends. You know I’m talking about you when you read this.

 
2014
Looking at 2014 there are a lot of cool things coming. Hopefully this is going to be a busy year, and year that I can give back more to the community as a speaker and author. At this moment I can’t talk about these big plans, but when I can I’ll post it here.

I wish you all a healthy, happy and productive 2014!

3 Responses to 2013 – a summary

  1. Chris Yates says:

    Seems as though we share a lot of similarities for 2013 and the upcoming year. Wish you much success and happiness in the new year and look forward to expounding on opportunities that may lie ahead in the future.

  2. jaspio says:

    Great to see your blog is going from strength to strength.
    Wishing you a great 2014 with more great opputunities!

Leave a Reply

