SQLUGBE Session – Resources

Last week I presented a session to the SQL Server User Group Belgium. The session about CDC was my first ever UG presentation, and it was exciting and scary at the same time. But I was glad there were some familiar faces in the audience. Not only Pieter Vanhove (Blog | @Pieter_Vanhove) was attending, but also Koen Verbeeck (Blog | @ko_ver) and Johan Bijnens (@alzdba). This made it a bit easier to talk to the group of attendees (about 25), because I knew I could use their help if things didn’t go as planned. But the session went okay. I felt a bit too nervous, talked too fast, and didn’t really watch the time. All rookie mistakes of course. There was a 2,5 hour timeslot reserved, and in the end I talked about CDC for 2 hours and 15 minutes! Surprisingly, it didn’t feel like that at all! Sorry to all the attendees for that!

A few attendees came by after the session, and told me their opinion on the session. That first feedback was better than I could imagine. The rest of the feedback will be send to me later, so hopefully that feedback will be as good as the first feedback I got. This experience convinced me I want to look for the next challenge. A new event, a different audience, and new topic(s).

For all the attendees (and the ones who just want to check out the slides and demos), I shared the resources:

 
Slide deck (pdf)
Slide deck + demos (zip)

 
Thanks again to all attendees, thank you SQL Server User Group Belgium for organizing the session, and thank you Kohera for sponsoring the session!

 
 
UPDATE:
The evaluation just came in, and it’s better than I could ever expect!

Question: Fulfilled this evening your technical expectations?
Score: 7.8 / 9

Question: How do you evaluate presentation skills?
Score: 7.56 / 9

Question: How do you evaluate presenters knowledge?
Score: 8.2 / 9

2 Responses to SQLUGBE Session – Resources

  1. SQLMickey says:

    Congrats Jeffrey!

  2. Pingback: Published CDC article | SQL from the Trenches

Leave a Reply

