Creating a free SQL Server test environment in 15 minutes

In order to test new SQL Server tools or other applications, I use a small test environment on my laptop. I wanted to share how I normally (and pretty quickly) set up a test environment.

 
Installing Hyper-V
Right now, I rely on Hyper-V to host my virtual machines. This is build-in in Windows, and easy to use. Before I could use that, I enabled and installed Hyper-V on my Windows 8 machine.

 
Adding network connectivity for your VM’s
When you enabled Hyper-V, and before you create your first VM, you want to add a virtual network card to your VM. You can do that by clicking on “Virtual Switch Manager” on the right of the Hyper-V Manager. In the window that pops up, you choose “External”, and click on “Create Virtual Switch”. Because I work on a laptop, I can choose between 2 adapters: UTP and WiFi. But because I want my VM to work within the company network, I choose the external network adapter (personal preference).

 
Create a VM and install Windows Server 2012
Now that you have a working Hyper-V setup, you can download Windows Server 2012 Evaluation. Just create a new VM in the Hyper-V Manager, go through the options (configure number of CPU’s, memory, etc.), and double click on the VM you created. In the menu bar, click on “Media”, and mount the Windows ISO in the DVD Drive menu. Start the VM, and run through the Windows setup.

Approximate time needed: 6 minutes

 
Enable .NET Framework 3.5
For some reason, when enabling or installing .NET Framework 3.5, Windows Server 2012 throws an error. I haven’t been able to figure out why this fails, but you can’t manage without it because it’s needed to install SQL Server.
After the installation of Windows Server 2012, you can run the command below in either command prompt or PowerShell (Change X: to the driveletter with the Windows installation files):

Dism /online /enable-feature /featurename:NetFx3 /All /Source:X:\sources\sxs /LimitAccess

Approximate time needed: < 1 minute

 
Changing the machine name
To make it easier for yourself to work with SQL Server (and possible connections to and from other machines on the network) later on, you should change the machine name. If you don’t do that, you need to connect to “WIN-ABCD1E2F3GH\InstanceName” with SSMS. A shorter machine name is more useful and meaningful. This prevents mix-ups of multiple VM’s, or really long connectionstrings in application config files.

You can do that by pressing Windows Key + X, click on “System”, “Change Settings”, “Change”, and change the “Computer name” value. When you change that, you need to restart your VM.

Approximate time needed: < 1 minute

 
Installing SQL Server
Now that you have a working environment, we can start with the actual important bit: installing SQL Server. For my test environment, I use SQL Server 2014. You can just download the SQL Server 2014 Evaluation Edition from the Microsoft website. Personally, I just install the engine and the tools (SSMS), but that depends on the reason I create that machine.

Approximate time needed: 6 minutes

 
Was that fast or what?!
As a result, you have a fully working test environment that lasts 180 days (the duration of the evaluation editions), without the cost of licenses. And the more you need a test VM, the faster you can do it. Personally, I store both ISO files in a directory on my laptop. If I need a test environment, it takes me about 10 minutes to install a brand new VM (depending on disk performance). You just need to create a new VM, install the operating system, install SQL Server, and it’s ready to go!

Enjoy your testing or learning!

2 Responses to Creating a free SQL Server test environment in 15 minutes

  1. Scott says:

    Great post, but Hyper-V requires the Pro or Enterprise version of Windows 8.1. A truly free solution would use either VirtualBox or VMware Player.

    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh857623.aspx

    • DevJef says:

      Fair point Scott! And your CPU needs to support it. But how many people out there are still running an unsupported CPU, and a home edition of Windows for example?

      But looking at the alternatives, VirtualBox would be my second best option (personal choice).

Leave a Reply

