T-SQL Tuesday #82 – To the cloud… And beyond!!!

T-SQL Tuesday is a recurring blog party, that is started by Adam Machanic (Blog | @AdamMachanic). Each month a blog will host the party, and everyone that want’s to can write a blog about a specific subject.

This month the subject is “To the cloud… And beyond!!!”. If you want to read the opening post, please click the image below to go to the invitation.



 
As I mentioned in the invitation, Azure allows us to easily host and scale our platform. But it also comes with a whole new set of challenges. Some of the observations I made in the last few months:

 
Agent is missing in action…
One of the biggest challenges for me when I started migrating stuff to Azure was the missing SQL Server Agent. I never thought about how often I actually used it until I missed it! There’s no more “let me quickly schedule this script for tomorrow morning” anymore.

And although there are multiple solutions to this problem available in Azure (Scheduler, Automation) I picked the easy way out. Because we’re running 2 platforms in parallel (an on-premise private cloud and Azure), I decided to create a VM in the private-cloud platform to run operational tasks like scheduled maintenance for example. This is not a solution I would like to keep for the upcoming years, but it allows us to easily run scheduled tasks, without losing time on figuring out how Azure Automation or Scheduler works.

For more information on this, please read this post.

 
Contained datastore
A thing that can make migrations to the cloud a bit more difficult, is that Azure SQL databases are basically a contained datastore (you would call it a “contained database” when you run it on-premise). This means that you (by default) can’t connect from one database to the other. This could mean that you need to rewrite your applications or stored procedures, or maybe even redesign your entire database/application/domain model.

This also means that running a stored procedure from the Ola Hallengren’s maintenance solution can only be done on the specific database, and not from the master database like the on-premise version does. These small challenges can be overcome, but it does mean code-duplication in your databases because the maintenance procedures need to be deployed to every single database.

 
Running database maintenance
Just like on-premise databases, Azure SQL databases also need to be serviced every now and then. To make sure I’m not reinventing the wheel I’ve re-used a solution that has proved its worth in practice: Ola Hallengren’s “SQL Server Maintenance Solution”.

But because every Azure SQL database is a contained datastore, I’ve made some minor changes to his solution. You can read more about that here.

 
Performance issues & alerting
One of the biggest differences for me between an on-premise database and an Azure SQL database is how I need to determine the cause of performance problems and solving them. When you’re working on a on-premise database it’s easy to just look at the CPU and RAM used by your instance, and watch the disk IO in the performance monitor in Windows. But you don’t have those in Azure of course. There you need to work with “DTU” percentages, and “Data IO” and “Log IO” counters. But DTU (Database Transaction Unit) makes monitoring performance a bit too abstract if you ask me. Just look at the explanation Microsoft gives us regarding DTU:

 

The Database Transaction Unit (DTU) is the unit of measure in SQL Database that represents the relative power of databases based on a real-world measure: the database transaction. We took a set of operations that are typical for an online transaction processing (OLTP) request, and then measured how many transactions could be completed per second under fully loaded conditions.

For example, a Premium P11 database with 1750 DTUs provides 350x more DTU compute power than a Basic database with 5 DTUs.

 
One thing I’m really happy with is that Adam Machanic published a new version of his sp_WhoIsActive for Azure a few months ago. This gives me the opportunity to quickly look at the results to find a cause of the performance issues.

 
When after a while you have a gut feeling about what the performance of your databases, you run into a new challenge with monitoring: the monitoring of DTU usage has a maximum retention of just 1 hour. This gives me another challenge, because I would like to see a longer retention. I definitely don’t want to over-scale my databases, so in some cases a long running process can trigger this alert. And when this happens during the day it’s annoying, but still okay. But it also woke me up in the middle of the night during an on-call rotation. This forced me to set some of the alerts on the maximum value of 45 minutes / 1 hour, and just disable others. In my opinion, this could use some work by Microsoft.

 
Conclusion
So in general I’m REALLY satisfied with the functionality that Azure SQL database provides us with, even though there’s always something to wish for of course. The move to Azure gives me as a DBA a new set of challenges and (in some cases) demands other/new skills, but it also allows me to do more than just manage a bunch of databases. I’m now also a part-time system administrator, network admin, (data)architect, developer, etc. This is something I personally really like, because it’s exactly that that allows me to broaden my horizon, and use a set of skills I didn’t for a while when working on on-premise databases.

So even though some people were afraid the DBA role would disappear because of the cloud-uprise, I’m convinced it will be here to stay except it will be a role with more skills needed than before, and I think that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

